fig clafoutis

We’re having some pretty odd weather this year in Phoenix. It was a really cool spring, until all of a sudden, very hot, very early. So some things, like our tomatoes, didn’t really kick in until just lately, so we’ll probably have fewer, but they might actually produce some fruit in the fall. The early hot weather has been good for figs though- usually we don’t get much of a breva (or first) crop- but this year we’re getting enough that I needed to cook some- hence the fig clafoutis you see below. A clafoutis is traditionally a rustic french country dessert with cherries in a firm custard base. This one is a variation on a recipe from a friend’s french grandmother that I’ve been tinkering with over the years- substituting whatever fruit is in season. This time I buttered and sugared the baking dish, per a Patricia Wells recipe, and it gave the whole thing a delicious, almost burnt, deep caramel edge. Fruit crops always seem especially rewarding to me- it seems like less work than some of the vegetable crops- but then I realized its because usually B takes care of the fruit trees (pruning, mulching, harvesting), whereas for the vegetables in the garden, I’m the one sweating it out! Anyway, with the way the figs are growing this year, I’m sure we’re going to have a bumper crop of figs in the fall too- so I’m hoping to make some fig jam in the near future…

